A Great Friend

I have this friend that I have looked at as a role model for a while now. She is always smiling, giving encouragement, and being bubbly. I never understood how someone could be so happy all the time, but I wanted to be that person.
However, we have been getting a lot closer this year, and I realized that she has actually been putting up with a lot at school and at home. This smiling, encouraging, bubbly friend was in need of what she has been gifting me for years; she needed some encouragement.
Yesterday this friend sent me a text message that brought me to tears. The text message was

I was just thinking about you! I was admiring your ability to maintain your faith in difficult times. I wish I could be like you.

This text message made me realize two things.
1. That one of my best friends was struggling more than she let on, and I was in the wrong by assuming that she was handling the situations better than I would be able to handle them. That she needs someone to let her know that she is an amazing friend and encouraging person in my life.
2. I was a witness for God to someone in my life. I have allowed God’s light to shine through me to others even when I have a cloud of darkness surrounding me due to issues at home. I am not lagging in my faith as much as I thought I was. This was a realization that I much needed.

I believe that I can speak for the both of us by saying that we have a very mutual relationship. We definitely need each other’s strength in order to make it through each and every day. I have no idea where I would be without the continuous encouragement from one of my best friends.

If you ever read this Hannah… Thank you for always putting up with me and being a great friend!

Leave a Reply

