Role Model

Everybody has that one person in their life that they look up to. That one person who they want to be just like. That person for me is my Pastor.

I have only been going to church three years, but I go by myself. My parents don’t go with me. The church is within walking distance from my house, so it’s perfectly fine.

Last year, my pastor announced she had a brain tumor. It was benign, but surgery was still required. It took seven months of recovery before my pastor felt herself again. To this day, she is deaf in one ear, slightly blind in one eye and her mouth is still dropped, but she still preaches like nothing ever happened.

This past Thursday night she got back from being away at school for two weeks. Friday night her mother passed away. This morning she was here to preach.

These, what may look like, simple events to most are life changing to me. This woman has been through so much and she doesn’t even let it phase her. This just shows that whatever God brings you to, He will also get you through. It’s a great feeling to know that you shouldn’t be afraid because God will get you through whatever is wrong.

My pastor is one person who I can get into random conversation with, text when my parents are fighting and talk about random stuff with to get my mind off of it, house I can randomly show up at and we just watch tv like I was invited over. She’s the most amazing person I have ever met. She even said she adopted me haha :). Not for real, but it’s good to have another mom. Well I guess she is my church family mom.

Leave a Reply

